Terms of Engagement

Through you reading my blog we are entering a relationship. It has a few rules. If you don’t want to follow them, you are welcome to read something else.

On my end I promise to post content that is interesting to you. That means I will do my best not to write about myself, and not to post opinion pieces. A certain amount of preference is unavoidable, but I will not write pieces that are pure opinion and devoid of insight.

I will post my Principles, though. Kudos goes to Ray Dalio for suggesting that people make their Principles publicly available. What is the difference between Principles and opinions? Principles imply commitment to following them. Opinions don’t. As such, here is the first thing I require from you, my reader:

If you ever encounter me failing to follow one of my Principles, call me out on it.

That will help me in my progress as a person. Thank you. The second thing that I ask you involves my progress as a writer:

If you ever encounter me making a mistake, call me out on it.

That refers to language, calculations, fact-checking or anything else you would truly call a mistake.

That’s it; I hope this works for you.

Yours,

Sergey

 
25
Kudos
 
25
Kudos

Now read this

On Matters of Importance and Casual Discussions

The Silicon Valley playbooks elevate getting early feedback on innovative ideas. The argument goes “If a person whom you randomly tell your idea can execute it better than you, you shouldn’t be doing it anyway. Moreover, if the market... Continue →